Minor ladies through to the county final

posted 16 Dec 2012, 12:03 by Moyle Rovers

Our annual club mass  for deceased members of the club will take place on Thursday 29th November at 7-30 pm.  All are welcome to attend.  


our juvenile AGM will take place in Friday 7 December at 8pm in Monroe sports complex. All are welcome. 


Anybody with county board draw monies can drop to co-ordinator Seamus on the first Friday of the month in Monroe complex between  9pm -9.15pm


Congratulation to clubman Noel wall on being awarded a national bravery award recently.  Congratulation noël. 


The sympathies of the club go to Delahunty family on the recent death of Jackie Delahunty.  may he rest in peace. 

Ladies Football.
Our minors girls have qualified for the county final following a well deserved victory over Aherlow in  Monroe last Sunday morning. Played in cold wet conditions our girls showed great commitment and heart to outplay  the opposition and advance to the final due to be played this week end.It was a heart warming display of intelligent football and skill played on an energy sapping wet  wintry morning . Aherlow opened brightly and had the opening score with a well taken point. About five minutes in Moyle Rovers  scored a very good goal. From here they played really good football and were ahead 4-3 to 1-2  at halftime. Conditions were very difficult and we had a number of injuries. Our younger players who were called on tall played their part and made valuable contributions.  The final score of 7-7 to 2-3 indicates a comprehensive victory but all the scores were all hard earned. Aherlow did not give up the fight and made our girls work hard right to the end. Moyle Rovers now meet Brian Borus in the county final and we wish the Management Team of Eamonn Power,Frances Ryan,Paudie Everard and Keith Delahunty and The Panel of players all the best in the final.Our panel on the day was Rachael Delahunty,Gillian Hickey (Captain),Hazel Shanahan,Leanne Ryan,Laura Grace,Aoife Power,Ciara Ryan,Rosin McGrath,Danni Di Ruzza,Ruth O'Dwyer,Sarah Everard,Sinead Kenrick,Niamh Brennan,Caroline Quirke,Megan Shanahan,Evrena Everard,Shania Dowling,Michelle McMeel,Bronagh McGrath,Derbhile Fitzgearld,Heather Hammond,Orla Ryan (injured),Gemma O'Dwyer (injured).